

For Immediate Release: April 7, 2022 Contact: Susan Duncan, SC State Fire (803) 896-5790

105 S.C. Fire Departments Receive "Fire Safe South Carolina" Community Designation

Fire Safe South Carolina (FSSC) and its partners congratulate 105 fire departments in 37 counties across the state on their active participation in developing community risk reduction (CRR) plans for their jurisdictions in 2021.

These designated communities continually work to reduce fire-related injuries in our state, thereby decreasing the risks for residents and firefighters. They also promote consistent fire safety messaging and stress the importance of providing all relative data collected at fire scenes.

"The enthusiasm for obtaining this designation continues to grow, and we remain encouraged by active participation," Community Risk Reduction Chief Josh Fulbright said.

"We congratulate the 105 designees and are excited to see a 30 percent increase from last year," he said. "We look forward to recognizing them with a formal award ceremony during the June Fire-Rescue Conference in Myrtle Beach."

To earn the "Fire Safe South Carolina" designation, fire departments completed courses to improve data quality, trained community partners to deliver in-home safety visits, and further developed their skills through online National Fire Academy courses in risk reduction and assessment.

In 2021, 366 new community partners were identified statewide, more than 1,000 fire service members were educated on risk reduction-related topics, and nearly 500,000 citizens were educated on fire and life safety topics by local fire departments.

"As we move forward, community relationships must continually be built and nurtured to form mutually-beneficial partnerships," he said. These relationships create sustainability in risk reduction efforts, ultimately saving lives."

Launched in 2017, Fire Safe SC's partners include the S.C. State Firefighters' Association, the S.C. State Association of Fire Chiefs, and the S.C. Fire Marshal Association. Together, they announce the following 105 fire departments have obtained the Fire Safe SC Community designation.





2021 Fire Safe South Carolina Designated Communities

Abbeville City Fire and Rescue

Abbeville County Fire

Aiken Department of Public Safety Allendale County Fire & Rescue

Anderson County Fire Protection Commission

Anderson Fire Department

Awendaw-McClellanville Consolidated Fire District

Belmont Fire Department
Belton Fire Department
Belvedere Fire Department
Bennettsville Fire Department
Bluffton Township Fire District

Boiling Springs Fire Department Greenville Boiling Springs Fire Department of Spartanburg

Bonham Fire Department
Buffalo-Cherokee VFD
Camden Fire Department
Cash Rural Fire Department
Charleston Fire Department
Cheraw Fire Department

Cherokee Springs Fire Department Clarendon County Fire Rescue Clemson University Fire and EMS

Clinton Fire

Colleton County Fire-Rescue Columbia-Richland Fire & Rescue City of Conway Fire Department

Crosswell Fire District
Dacusville Fire Department
Darlington County Fire District
Dorchester County Fire Rescue
City of Easley Fire Department
Fairfield County Fire Service
Flint Hill Fire Rescue
Florence Fire Department
Fort Mill Fire Department
Fountain Inn Fire Department

Gaffney Fire Department
Georgetown City Fire Department
Georgetown County Fire/EMS
Glassy Mountain Fire Service Area
Grassy Pond Fire Department
Greenville City Fire Department
City of Greer Fire Department
Hardeeville Fire Department
Hartsville Fire Department
Hilton Head Island Fire Rescue
Hodges-Cokesbury Fire & Rescue Unit

Honea Path Fire Department Horry County Fire Rescue Howe Springs Fire Rescue Irmo Fire District

Isle of Palms Fire Department

James Island PSD Fire Department Jasper County Fire Rescue

Kershaw County Fire Service Kingstree Fire Department

Lady's Island-St. Helena Fire District

Lake City Fire Department
Lancaster City Fire Department
Lancaster County Fire Rescue
Lee County Fire and Rescue
Liberty Area Fire District
Long Branch Fire Department

Lugoff Fire Rescue Mayo Fire Department Midway Fire Rescue

Mount Pleasant Fire Department Murrells Inlet-Garden City Fire District Myrtle Beach Fire Department

City of Newberry Fire Department North Charleston Fire Department

North Myrtle Beach Department of Public Safety

Orangeburg County Fire District Parker District Fire Department Pelham-Batesville Fire Department

Pickens Fire Department
Pickens Rural Fire/Rescue
Piedmont Park Fire District
Poplar Springs Fire Department
Richland County Fire Marshal's Office

Saluda County Fire Service

Sandy Branch Volunteer Fire Department

Santee Fire District

Sardis-Timmonsville Fire Department Shady Grove Fire Department Sheldon Township Fire District South Lynches Fire Department City of Spartanburg Fire Department

St. Andrews Fire Department
St. John's Fire District
Sumter Fire Department
Surfside Beach Fire Department
Taylors Fire Department
Tega Cay Fire Department

Town of McCormick Fire Department Travelers Rest Fire Department Tyger River Fire Service Area Vineyards Fire District

West Columbia Fire Department

West Florence Fire Rescue

Westview-Fairforest Fire Department Williamsburg County Fire Department Winnsboro Department of Public Safety

City of York Fire Department